Philadelphia Underage Drinking Attorney
Pennsylvania is cracking down on underage drinking and recently raised the fines for a first time offense from $300 to $500 and a second time offense from $500 to $1,000. And in Philadelphia’s campus areas, including Penn and Temple, school authorities are becoming increasingly vigilant about catching alcohol violations.
If you are caught allegedly drinking when you are under the legal drinking age, you face being charged with a summary offense. A skilled Philadelphia underage drinking attorney can help you avoid costly fines and possible suspension of your driver’s license.
What You Need To Know About Underage Drinking
In Pennsylvania, if you are less than 21 it is illegal:
- To buy, or try to buy, alcohol
- To consume alcohol
- To possess alcohol
- To knowingly and intentionally transport alcohol
The law defines alcohol as any liquor, malt or brewed beverage containing 0.50 percent or more alcohol by volume. This includes beer and wine.
If you are found guilty of drinking an alcoholic beverage when you are underage, you will have to pay a fine and your driver’s license may be suspended. The police will also notify your parents. You may even risk jail time.
How an Underage Drinking Lawyer Will Help
If your child is arrested, you need a Philadelphia underage drinking attorney who will stand by you every step of the way, work hard to discredit any evidence – and work with you to determine the best course of action.
If a minor’s case is going to be tried in an adult court, whenever possible your Philadelphia underage drinking attorney will try to have the case moved to a juvenile court.
Pennsylvania Minors Law
Laws for minors are described and defined in The Pennsylvania Code under Title 18, Chapter 63. Read the code here.
Questions? Contact us today.
Based on the evidence, Fienman Defense will try to get juvenile charges dismissed or lowered. Should the case go to a hearing or trial, we will fight to present the strongest defense possible for your situation.