Domestic violence charges are serious. One accusation against you, and suddenly your life is a mess. Your entire future is on the line. In Delaware County, you might find yourself dealing with harsh Pennsylvania laws and the local jail. And that’s before you have even been convicted.

Being prepared is one of the most important first steps you can take after being charged with domestic violence. That is why we have put together the following list of things to know about domestic violence charges in Delaware County. For help fighting your charges, reach out to the Philadelphia domestic violence lawyers at Fienman Defense today.

Charged With Domestic Violence in Delaware County: Things You Need To Know

If you’re taken into custody for any felony or misdemeanor domestic violence charge, it’s best to understand what to expect and how you can defend yourself.

1. You Can Be Arrested Without a Warrant

It’s true; in Pennsylvania, police can arrest you if they only suspect that you have committed certain crimes against a family member or someone in your household. These include the following:

After making a warrantless arrest, an officer will take your guns, ammunition, and any other weapons you allegedly used or threatened to use in the commission of a crime.

2. You May Be Headed To the Delaware County Jail

If you get arrested for domestic violence in Delaware County, you may first be taken to any local police station. The police departments in Upper Darby Township, Springfield, Ridley, and the Delaware County Sheriff’s Office are good examples.

But then, your next stop might be the Delaware County Jail to await your preliminary arraignment. Almost everyone who is arrested in Delaware County ends up here for at least a short time. Upon arrival, you will have to give up most of your clothing and personal items while you’re booked into the system. This information isn’t meant to scare you, but it is intended to highlight the importance of calling a lawyer who can get you out of jail as quickly as possible.

3. You Might Face an Order of Protection

Even if you are already facing criminal charges for alleged domestic violence, your accuser might also slap you with an order of protection. You’re already facing possible prison time, so should you even care? Absolutely.

Here are a few issues an order of protection can cause in your life:

  • Temporarily loss of child custody and visitation
  • Be kicked out of your home
  • Make monthly payments to your spouse or partner while the order is in effect
  • Be barred from contacting your spouse and children in any way
  • Have to turn over your guns and other weapons

4. The Penalties Could Be Severe

An order of protection may be the least of your worries when you find out you are facing what could be a felony charge. Domestic violence charges in Pennsylvania include a broad range of crimes. These crimes range from misdemeanors to severe felonies.

What you are charged with will depend on the severity of the alleged abuse and whether you have a criminal history. Keep in mind that misdemeanors can be severe:

  • A first-degree misdemeanor can land you in jail for five years and fine you up to $10,000
  • First-degree felonies can be punished with 20 years in prison and as much as $25,000 in fines

5. An Attorney Can Help Protect Your Future

The idea here is to prepare you for what to do when you have been charged with domestic violence in Delaware County. And one of the most important things you can do is call a criminal defense lawyer as soon as possible. A local lawyer who knows the area and the system can help you see a way forward even when it feels like all hope is lost.

An attorney can show up at your very first arraignment and every court date after that. Your attorney will look for evidence and holes in your accuser’s story. Your lawyer will build the strongest possible defense for you. And that gives you the best possible chance of beating your domestic violence charge.

Contact a Delco Domestic Violence Defense Lawyer

For help fighting a domestic violence charge in Delaware County, reach out to attorney Michael Fienman at Fienman Defense. The sooner you speak with Michael, the better your chances of avoiding conviction, jail time, and being labeled a domestic abuser.

Set up a free consultation with attorney Fienman at our Delaware County office by calling (215) 839-9529.

View All Blogs