Call or text me at

Legal Limit

 

to top

Throughout Pennsylvania, if your blood alcohol content tests at .08 percent or higher you are considered to be over the legal limit.

When your blood, breath or urine test reveals you are over the legal limit, you will be charged with DUI.

If you are arrested for drunk driving in Philadelphia, the impact will be swift and damaging. You can lose your license for months, making it hard for you to get to work, run errands or take your kids to school. You may be looking at years of jail time and heavy fines. You will need to hire an experienced DUI defense attorney as soon as you can.

Your BAC Level

You will probably be asked to take a chemical test such as a breath, blood or urine test to determine your blood alcohol content (BAC).

If your blood alcohol content is .08 or more, the equivalent of two drinks for most people, you will be charged with DUI. However if the police believe you are impaired because of alcohol and/or drugs, you can still be arrested even if your blood level tests lower.

In Pennsylvania, you have to be tested within two hours of your arrest. If you refuse to be tested, your driver’s license will be immediately suspended for a year or more.

Philadelphia’s Three-Tier System

Philadelphia uses a three-tier system based on the level of alcohol in your blood to determine your level of punishment for a DUI.

First tier (BAC of .08 to .099) is general impairment and it is the lowest level. It is punished with:

First tier, first offense —

  • Up to six months probation
  • $300 fine
  • Alcohol highway safety school
  • The court may order you to take a treatment program

First tier, second offense—

  • Five days to six months in jail
  • $300 to $2,500 in fines
  • One year license suspension
  • You will have an ignition interlock device on your car for one year. You will be unable to start your car without passing a BAC test.

First tier, third offense—

  • 10 days to two years in prison
  • $500 to $5,000 in fines
  • One year license suspension
  • The court may order you to take a treatment program
  • An ignition interlock device on your car for one year

Second tier (BAC of .10 to .159) is high impairment and it is the middle tier. It is punished with:

Second tier, first offense–

  • Two days to six months in prison
  • $500 to $5,000 in fines
  • One year license suspension
  • Alcohol highway safety school
  • The court may order you to take a treatment program

Second tier, second offense—

  • 30 days to six months in prison
  • $750 to $5,000 in fines
  • One year license suspension
  • Alcohol highway safety school
  • The court may order you to take a treatment program
  • An ignition interlock device on your car for one year

Second tier, third offense—

  • 90 days to five years in prison
  • $1,500 to $10,000 in fines
  • 18 month license suspension
  • The court may order you to take a treatment program
  • An ignition interlock device on your car for one year

Third tier (BAC of .16 or more) is the highest impairment. It is punished with:

Third tier, first offense—

  • Three days to six months in prison
  • $1,000 to $5,000 in fines
  • One year license suspension
  • Alcohol highway safety school
  • The court may order you to take a treatment program

Third tier, second offense—

  • 90 days to five years in prison
  • $1,500 to $10,000 in fines
  • 18 month license suspension
  • Alcohol highway safety school
  • The court may order you to take a treatment program
  • An ignition interlock device on your car for one year

Third tier, third offense—

  • One to five years in prison
  • $2,500 to $10,000 in fines
  • 18 month license suspension
  • The court may order you to take a treatment program
  • An ignition interlock device on your car for one year

More Negative Impacts Of A DUI

  • DUI convictions will give you a criminal record that can impact your ability to get a good job.
  • With any DUI conviction, your car insurance rates are likely to go up.
  • If someone was injured or killed while you were driving drunk, you may draw an enhanced sentence with harsher penalties. You can also be sued in a civil court for damages.

What To Do If The Police Pull You Over

  • Do not try to talk your way out of the arrest
  • Do not tell them you have been drinking.
  • If the police question you repeatedly, politely refuse to answer their questions and tell then you want a lawyer.

Your Defense

Depending on the circumstances of your case, among the many defenses your attorney may try to prove:

  • You were not impaired
  • The stop was not legal
  • The DUI checkpoint did not meet standards
  • They had no legitimate reason to stop you
  • The test was administered incorrectly
  • The test equipment was not calibrated properly
  • You were not the driver
  • The police report had inaccuracies

How A Lawyer Will Help

When you are up against DUI charges, you need an attorney who will stand by you every step of the way, work hard to discredit any evidence – and work with you to determine your best course of action.

Pennsylvania DUI Law

DUI is described and defined under The Pennsylvania Code under Title 75, Chapter 38. Read the code here.

Questions? Contact us today.

Based on the evidence, Fienman Defense will try to get your DUI charges dismissed or lowered. Should the case go to trial, we will fight to present the strongest defense possible for your situation.